Three Mayo Clinic Health System sites awarded Joint Commission accreditation

January 22, 2013

The Joint Commission Gold SealMANKATO, Minn. — Mayo Clinic Health System in FairmontMankato and St. James have earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval ™ for accreditation by demonstrating compliance with The Joint Commission’s national standards for health care quality and safety in hospitals. The accreditation award recognizes Mayo Clinic Health System’s dedication to continuous compliance with The Joint Commission’s state-of-the-art standards for delivering safe and effective patient care.

“With Joint Commission accreditation, we are making a significant investment in enhancing the quality of care we provide on a daily basis,” says Greg Kutcher, M.D., president and CEO of Mayo Clinic Health System in the region. “Joint Commission accreditation provides us with a framework to take our organization to the next level and helps create a culture of excellence.”

Mayo Clinic Health System sites in Fairmont, Mankato and St. James each recently underwent separate rigorous unannounced site surveys. A team of Joint Commission expert surveyors evaluated the organization for compliance with standards of care specific to the needs of patients, including infection prevention and control, leadership and medication management.

“In achieving Joint Commission accreditation, Mayo Clinic Health System has demonstrated its commitment to the highest level of care for its patients,” says Mark Pelletier, R.N., M.S., executive director, Hospital Programs, Accreditation and Certification Services, The Joint Commission. “Accreditation is a voluntary process, and I commend the providers and staff in Fairmont, Mankato and St. James for successfully undertaking this challenge to elevate their standard of care and instill confidence in the patients and communities they serve.”

The Joint Commission’s hospital standards address important functions relating to the care of patients and the management of hospitals. Health care experts, providers, measurement experts and patients collaborate to develop the standards.

An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 18,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards. It is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care.


Mayo Clinic Health System consists of Mayo-owned clinics, hospitals and other health care facilities that serve the health care needs of people in more than 70 communities in Georgia, Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. The community-based providers, paired with the resources and expertise of Mayo Clinic, enable patients in the region to receive the highest quality health care close to home.

Press Contact

Mankato Press Contact
e-mail: 507-385-2992
phone: 507-385-2691