Introducing Mayo Clinic Health System

May 21, 2011

Eau Claire – Luther Midelfort and its regional sites are changing their names. Effective Monday, May 23, Luther Midelfort will become Mayo Clinic Health System.

Its regional hubs in Barron, Bloomer and Osseo will be referred, respectively, as:

  • Mayo Clinic Health System – Northland
  • Mayo Clinic Health System – Chippewa Valley
  • Mayo Clinic Health System – Oakridge

In 1992, Luther Midelfort joined the Mayo Health System, which has now grown to include hospitals, clinics and other health care facilities in 70 communities throughout Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. On May 23, all of those facilities will become Mayo Clinic Health System.

“Mayo Clinic Health System has evolved over time, and today our sites work together more closely with each other and Mayo Clinic than ever before,” said Rob Nesse, M.D., chief executive officer, Mayo Clinic Health System. “We operate as one system and work together to provide our patients with the care they need, where they need it – whether that’s in their hometown, a neighboring community or in Rochester. Our new name reflects that.”

Mayo Clinic Health System in Eau Claire and its regional sites provide care to 11 local communities and is made up of:

  • 4 hospitals
  • 11 clinics
  • 6 pharmacies
  • 3 nursing homes
  • 1 assisted living facility
  • 1 express care clinic
  • home care services

“For our patients, this is the best of both worlds,” said Randall Linton, M.D., president and CEO of Luther Midelfort. “Patients will continue their long-term relationship with trusted providers, with the knowledge and expertise of Mayo Clinic supporting them. At the same time, they’ll have the ability to tap into Mayo Clinic during times of greatest medical need.”

Other name changes patients will notice are Midelfort Pharmacy & Home Medical’s becoming Mayo Clinic Health System – Pharmacy & Home Medical and Northwest Wisconsin Homecare becoming Mayo Clinic Health System – Home Health & Hospice.

The name changes are part of a broader effort to bring even more of Mayo Clinic to patients locally and meet patient needs as close to home as possible. Working as a system, Mayo Clinic Health System locations can provide coordinated and comprehensive care throughout a patient’s lifetime.

“Medical knowledge doubles every four to eight years,” Dr. Linton said. “Being part of Mayo Clinic means our providers are connected to one of the world’s most knowledgeable health care organizations. Locally, we can deliver care to our patients based on Mayo’s collective medical expertise.

“Mayo Clinic originally partnered with Luther Midelfort because we share a commitment to providing high-quality health care,” he said. “Our new Mayo Clinic Health System name means we, just like our patients, will expect great care to be delivered for life.”

About Mayo Clinic Health System
The health system consists of Mayo-owned clinics, hospitals and other health care facilities that serve the health care needs of people in 70 communities in Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. The community-based providers, paired with the resources and expertise of Mayo Clinic, enable patients in the region to receive the highest-quality health care close to home.


Press Contact