Springfield Area Health Care Foundation awards six scholarships

June 10, 2016

SPRINGFIELD, Minn. — The Springfield Area Health Care Foundation (SAHCF), which Mayo Clinic Health System operates, has awarded five $500 scholarships to area high school students who plan to pursue post-secondary health care degrees, as well as an additional $500 scholarship to a post-secondary student from the area.

Scholarship recipients include:

  • Natalie Timm, Springfield, plans to attend the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities to study pediatrics.
  • Mikaela Smith, Red Rock Central, plans to attend St. Thomas University to study pre-med.
  • Courtney Teveldal, Red Rock Central, plans to attend South Dakota State University to study occupational therapy.
  • Anna Hagan, Red Rock Central, plans to attend Minnesota State University-Mankato to study psychiatric nursing.
  • Natalie Hoffbeck, Cedar Mountain, plans to attend the University of South Dakota to study nursing.
  • Alex Smith, Springfield, is a pharmacy student at Drake University.

“Mayo Clinic has three shields, and one of those shields is education,” says Scott Thoreson, Mayo Clinic Health System in Springfield administrator. “As an institution that values, encourages and promotes higher education, we’re privileged to offer scholarships to these six individuals who are pursuing college degrees in the health care field.”

The scholarships are made possible through charitable contributions to the SAHCF. This is the 19th year the SAHCF has given out scholarships, totaling $44,500 for 88 students.

# # #

Mayo Clinic Health System consists of clinics, hospitals and other facilities that serve the health care needs of people in more than 60 communities in Georgia, Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. The community-based providers, paired with the resources and expertise of Mayo Clinic, enable patients in the region to receive the highest-quality health care close to home.

Press Contact

Micah Dorfner
e-mail: MACOMMDEPT@mayo.edu
phone: 507-385-2691
fax: 507-385-2992