New Chief Administrative Officer for Mayo Clinic Health System Franciscan Healthcare

July 26, 2012

Today, Joseph Kruse was named as Chief Administrative Officer for Mayo Clinic Health System – Franciscan Healthcare, succeeding Ron Paczkowski who announced his retirement earlier this year. Joe will assume his new responsibilities on Tuesday, Sept. 4.

"Joe will transition smoothly into his new duties,” said Tim Johnson, M.D., President and CEO of Mayo Clinic Health System – Franciscan Healthcare. “He has extensive experience within the health system and our communities. Over the years he has demonstrated a commitment to the organization’s success, strong financial and cost management skills and a deep personal appreciation for our foundational Franciscan and Mayo values and servant leadership.”

"Joe is a gentleman of great integrity and sincerity,” said Mark Koch, Chair of Mayo Clinic Health System Administration. “He has been an important figure in the development of a strong and vibrant Mayo Clinic Health System presence locally. We’re confident he and Dr. Johnson will make a great team.”

Kruse joined the organization (then St. Francis Medical Center) in 1984 and currently serves as Vice President with administrative responsibility for medical, surgical and hospital-based clinical services. His accomplishments include direct involvement in leading strategic initiatives that have strengthened the organization and improved the care provided to patients. Examples include major advancements in cancer care, cardiology, imaging services, stroke care, hospital medicine and most recently in surgical specialties.

Kruse is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives and was a founding board member of the Wisconsin Chapter of that organization. He serves on the Board of Health Tradition Health Plan.
He is also deeply involved in the community; he is a member of the La Crosse Chamber of Commerce, the La Crosse County Historical Society, A Place of Grace and has served as campaign co-chair of the Great Rivers United Way.

The selection committee included representation from the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration, Franciscan Healthcare leadership, Mayo Clinic Health System administrative leaders and the community.


Press Contact

Rick Thiesse
phone: 608-392-9425